Joost TV Beta Tester Says:

Joost

I got my invitation for Joost yesterday. I would have played right there and then, but had to bring my work laptop home because the software doesn’t run on anything less than the latest Intel macs. No biggie. Installation was painless, I have a user name and the thing looks awesome for streaming TV. Just like regular TV to be honest. Content will come with time but there’s a few hundred hours viewing.

Searching is fast and over picture. It is truly on demand. It may take a few seconds to get the stream started but nothing like wading through 5 minutes of ads. The ads are targeted and fairly discreet (that’ll change!) The interface isn’t awful (the controller needs a little help) and a click on the picture kills all the onscreen controls. Slick. I really, really like it. I want to love it.
One problem. The stuttering. To be honest I am on a wireless network which may account for some of the lag but I’m ahead of the curve for bandwidth and if I’m suffering (enough not to bother watching) this service may not get mainstream acceptance.It basically relies on a lot of people watching TV all the time and some dedicated bandwidth (700kb/s download, 300kb/s upload I think).

Maybe no one was watching TV with me?

This, or something like this, is the what TV is now. Interactive, niche, high quality content , on demand.

ps. is it just me or every rugby lover out there: everytime I see the name Joost I think of the Springbok scrum-half, Joost van der Westhuizen.

[UPDATE] I’ve played with it a few more times and the skipping has definitely reduced. The resolution sometimes suffers but it’s not bad. A lack of content is a problem. I’m bored already.

5 Responses to “Joost TV Beta Tester Says:”


  1. 1 jted April 8, 2007 at 11:54 pm

    I got my long awaited Joost beta too, and I have to say it was rather disappointing after all the hype. I have one of the newest Mac laptops and the video was still choppy. I liked the option of watching the World’s Strongest Man competitions from 5 years ago though…

  2. 2 ivan.retry April 9, 2007 at 6:52 am

    That episode of “Strip Trivia”, on the beach in Florida, where the guy got the answer RIGHT but the girl got the answer WRONG and had to take off her board shorts… GENIUS!

  3. 3 Ronaldo April 12, 2007 at 12:27 pm

    I’ve heard such great things about JOOST, and on top of what i’ve read, sounds like a fantactis site. If anyone HAS A TOKEN they can toss my way, I would be indebted, and could return the favor someway.

    thanks,

  4. 4 Albert April 14, 2007 at 3:06 am

    Who can invite me to Joost,

  5. 5 Rick April 19, 2007 at 6:25 pm

    I also would appreciate the Joost invite!


Leave a Reply

1 Hit Exceeded By

  • 650,000 %

Subscribe Now!

Buzz Feed

BuzzFeed

RSS Videmeter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Words and Pictures

Awesome

enhanced-buzz-wide-19815-1354801858-2

enhanced-buzz-wide-18531-1354806569-4

enhanced-buzz-wide-2915-1354806322-6

enhanced-buzz-wide-18074-1354034386-4

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

